MontessoriMom Education that everyone can do

Polar Newsletter Part 4: Whales

Whales, or cetaceans, are found in the Arctic and Antarctic. Many whales visit these areas in the spring to feed on the rich sea life, while others stay there year round.


There are two types of whales( cetaceans ) , toothed whales and baleen whales. The toothed whales feed on squid, fish, birds and other mammals. They range from white-beaked dolphins, Dall's porpoises, beluga whales, orcas, sperm whales, narwhals and pilot whales.

Baleen whales can be very big, which includes humpback whales. They eat plankton, krill and very small fish that they sift through their baleen. Each type of whale has a special diet that helps them to feed on the rich food supply of the Arctic and Antarctic.


Similar Pages:

Polar Newsletter Part 2: Penguins


Become a Patron!

Sign up for our free Newsletter

Privacy policy Your privacy is very important to us and we will never share, sell or lease your e-mail address to a third party for any reason.